What are you certain about?

This morning I was watching a clip of Elizabeth Gilbert talking to Paul Holdengraber. The thing that struck me, that has struck me before about Elizabeth Gilbert is that she’s certain about things. She talks about writing as a vocation and her commitment to defending her time doing it. It’s like she was given a note when she was born that said, “you will be a writer. Don’t doubt it just do it.”

I am a chronic doubter. I could give you a list of a thousand things I’m uncertain about. But I won’t because uncertainty is not appealing. Uncertainty seems whiny and weak and annoying.

All you need to know is that my internal dialogue almost always resembles this song by the Clash:

Certainty is a relief. It feels strong and self-assured. Elizabeth Gilbert says that she’s uncertain about most things in life except writing and wishes it upon all of us that we experience the joy of feeling certain about at least one thing in life.

So instead of thinking about all of things I feel uncertain about, I am going to find things I am certain about.

What I am certain about:

1. Drink a lot of water.

2. Sleep is a necessary bore. Life gets crazy when I try to cut corners on sleep.

3. If your mum is comfortable with every decision you make, you’re not taking enough risks.

That’s all I’ve got so far.

What are you certain about? Plonk your certainties in the comments.

2 thoughts on “What are you certain about?

  1. Sushi Suzuki

    I love the last one. I guess I am definitely taking enough risks.

    Without thinking too much about it, here are few I came up with:

    1. It’s easier to change yourself than others, but easier to convince others than yourself.

    2. Sleeping is overrated. You can sleep when you’re dead.

    3. Slightly too busy, dangerous, interesting is better than too idle, safe, boring.

  2. realsarahf Post author

    Love these ones. Wish I could be on board with no.2. I tried for years but was too sleepy and grumpy. However wholly agree with no.3 which requires that I would necessarily break my own rules about sleep from time to time.

Leave a Reply

