Can one book change everything?

I while ago I stumbled upon a book in discount store.

The Artist in the Office

It’s short, simple, nothing in this book totally blew my mind (i.e. the ideas were commonsense). It cost me five bucks.

And yet, it changed EVERYTHING.

The author, Summer Pierre, perfectly articulated the desire to leave the routine of 9 to 5 office life and get on with the good stuff.

And then she perfectly articulated why you should keep your office job.

This is the back and forth I have with my walking buddy who is also a writer who also goes to work full-time. We know work is good in so many ways.

* Don’t have to stress about where the money is coming from (especially good for people who hate thinking about money).

* Have a regular routine that keeps you on the straight and narrow.

* Keeps you connected to the humans – no fear of becoming isolated and out of touch with the world.

The best solution we come back to again and again is the part-time solution. I don’t want to completely disconnect from formal work, but I don’t want my office job to be my whole life.

Summer Pierre agrees that my office job doesn’t have to be my whole life! She shows a way that a regular job is a sweet part of the artist’s deal – something to work with instead of something to work against.

Here’s the weird bit – I’ve never, ever, not once in my whole life, every thought of myself as an artist. And yet, this book resonated so strongly (I think it was the pictures) that I wonder whether this might just be the framework for me. An instruction manual for structured play for grown ups maybe.

So thank you very much Summer Pierre, your short book might have changed everything.

Leave a Reply

