A reflection on Christmas

It seems ridiculous to be writing about Christmas. Apart from knowing that we have a big family event planned for a couple of weeks time, Christmas hasn’t really dropped into the radar yet.

I like Christmas. I like some carols and I like decorations and I like Merry Christmas Charlie Brown (and pretty much every other Christmas movie and TV special ever made). But Christmas just hasn’t really happened this year. Buying loads of presents seems even more insane than other years. Eating loads of baked goods seems even more insane than other years. It’s not like I’m angry about Christmas in a bah humbug kind of way. It just seems like I’m in a foreign country and I’ve overheard talk about a really odd ritual that doesn’t make much sense to an outsider. What’s going on?

I am truly bereft of Christmas spirit.

Alas, this is not a good option because I will be celebrating Christmas regardless. So I endeavour to inject myself with Christmas cheer. But I know it won’t work to inject myself with Christmas cheer by going shopping or eating mince pies.

So I will enjoy all the bits of Christmas I like and do my best to ignore the other bits.

Injection of “Christmas Cheer as defined by Sarah” no.1.

 

Leave a Reply

