My secret treasure

Around this time two years ago, I was in Paris with MJ and we visited Le Bon Marche. We wandered the displays and struck upon a lovely section with stationary, objet d’art, delicate crafty thing and a few books. That’s where I saw The Principles of Uncertainty.

Such a peculiar book, with lovely odd pictures and lovely odd stories and recollections to accompany the pictures. A funny little book in amongst a funny collection of things in a fancy department store. It was one of those moments when you feel like you’ve struck upon a rare treasure that you were never likely to find, but so glad you did, because what would life be like without it?

I bought the book that day and pick it up from time to time. Each time I consider myself lucky that this odd book that found its way into my bookshelf.

Only recently I realised that its author, Maira Kalman, is not my special Parisian department store secret.

She has illustrated covers for the New Yorker. She has illustrated Michael Pollan’s Food Rules, and she has illustrated  The Elements of Style. Yes, Strunk and White’s Elements of Style!

You may wish to buy me her book, And the Pursuit of Happiness, (originally a blog for the NY Times) for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

