Enjoy the seasons

I’ve been a long time reader of The Happiness Project. It’s just the right blend of reflection on living a happy life and “the latest research from Princeton says…” that I love.

Gretchen has recently launched a daily email with a short quote on happiness. Todays…

“Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.”
Henry David Thoreau

I love the change of seasons, but each year I learn to love winter less. Perhaps I’ll have a better time if I resign myself to the influences of winter better – I think that means staying home by the fire and catching up on a year’s reading.

But winter is behind us for 2010! It’s 7am and already 24 degrees! I’ll worry about winter in six months time. For now, I will happily and easily enjoy every minute of summer.

Leave a Reply

