And now it’s time for…a few links!

Hear the crowd cheer! That’s right, LINKS!

Chris Blattman says interesting stuff about development

I’ve been writing a report on Banksy in Melbourne. There are a few stencils left from when he visited in 2003. People want them preserved. I’ll discuss another day (and share photos of the remaining work). But in the meantime, I saw Exit Through the Gift Shop and have been REALLY surprised by how differently it’s interpreted by everyone I speak to. Either some of us are really naive or some of us are over-thinking. Have you seen it? What do you think? Hoax or for reelz?

I’m writing a short piece on the food industry that grows around expats in disaster zones. Examples here and here. Any more resources, thoughts, ideas, (anything!) would be gratefully welcomed.

5 thoughts on “And now it’s time for…a few links!

  1. DavidA

    I myself am a disaster zone. I fertilise no soil. I leave in my past a trail of broken societies, disappointed bridges, failed interpretations. I have destroyed the economies of several minor nation-states in my quest to try to attempt to achieve something before the ineluctable transmigration of my nonbiodegradeable nonorganic nonexistent soul.

  2. Sarah Fortuna Post author

    Could you comment on whether any restaurants or bars have popped up inside you to cater to the hundreds of little expat bacteria living in your ecosystem?

  3. DavidA

    They all shut down. The local water supply became contaminated. All the shrimp died in their sleep. The kids with their hungry eyes, I can’t forget.

  4. Robyn

    I’m glad you say that there have been mixed reactions to Exit Through The Gift Shop…and what’s with the name anyway? We went to the opening of it in Perth, and there were a few morons that made speeches at the start about how tagging is the start of everything and “go forth and tag”, which was annoying. For most of the film I couldn’t decide whether it was real or staged, but I find it hard to believe that guy is out there. And that people would pay $30000 for pictures of tomato sauce bottles. I think my jury’s still out though, which basically means my backside is getting sore because I’ve been sitting on the fence for too long. But some of the footage is obviously real…oh, I don’t know….

Leave a Reply

