Did I tell you I’m in a book club?

Late last year I joined a book club. Before the year ended we read three books.

1. As I Lay Dying – William Faulkner

2. The Crying of Lot 49 – Thomas Pynchon

3. Beloved – Toni Morrison

Similarly to my apparent need to achieve something the whole damn time, even on a sick day, having a book club deadline was remarkably effective at getting me to finish a book. Even when it’s Pynchon and I haven’t a single clue what’s going on.

So when I read about my friend’s friends’ blog, We Are Well Read, I was feeling pretty pleased with myself that I had recently read two of the books they’ve read or plan to read in 2010. It’s odd really – when I tell Greg that I’ve read something and he says, ‘yeah, I read that’, I’m like, cool. But when I read that someone on a BLOG has read it, I’m all, hell yeah, I READ BOOKS.

Anyway, if you like reading you might enjoy We Are Well Read, which is also known as Andy and Netty’s Reading Challenge which seems to reflect a minor but confusing blog-identity-crisis they’re having. I think I’ll try to sync up some of my reading with them this year. You should too. Then we can be all like, hell yeah, WE READ BOOKS.

P.S. If you don’t like the occasional but very effective cuss you might be a little bit bothered by Andy and Netty’s reviews. If you like amusingly honest responses to books from people who left uni long enough ago that they no longer care if they “get” Pynchon, then you’ll probably enjoy this blog.

One thought on “Did I tell you I’m in a book club?

  1. wellreadweare

    Thanks for the comments Sarah! You may be chuffed that we read the same books that you read but I think we’re more chuffed that you’ve blogged about our blog… And we’re in the process of blogging about Raymond Carver’s short stories, if you or any of your followers are interested. Incidentally I (Andy) have taken your comments on board, no cussin in my most recent entry…

Leave a Reply

