My last late night in newspapers

Another late night at the Waranga News,  but not as late as last week.

By the next edition, MJ’s compadres will be back and we will be soaring through the night sky, probably somewhere over Russia – my life in newspapers will be over.

***

Walking down the street today I made myself laugh when I realised how oddly bright my mood was. Do you ever have those moments when nothing can bug you?

I was skipping along the street, delighted by grass, the new bitumen road, even a semi-trailer driving past (‘Ah! The sweet rumble of industry!’)  

Funny. 

Also today, I found a dead rosella in a friend’s front doorway. If you try googling ‘dead bird omen’ you find a whole lot of forums with people asking if a dead bird is an omen and a whole lot of people telling them that they’re dopes. I think Italian mamas need to unite and create Omenpedia.

3 thoughts on “My last late night in newspapers

  1. DavidA

    Whilst somewhere over Russia
    I met the King of Prussia.
    He said “Have a word
    With my strange dead bird
    That just became my usher.”

  2. Rowan

    Love the omenpedia idea. Let’s totally do it! Everyone here is obsessed with wikis. I think they just like saying wiki. Wiki wiki wiki.

    I think the dead bird must be a good omen, as it quite possibly played a part in your uncalled-for elation. It imbued you with the spirit of the rosella and it made your soul all colourful and flyey.

    Or maybe you’re just creepy?

    ‘Sweet rumble of industry.’ LOL.

  3. Josh

    “It imbued you with the spirit of the rosella and it made your soul all colourful and flyey.”… I like this!

Leave a Reply

