I love the last page of a magazine

I love the last page of a magazine. Is there a special publishing term for that page? Does anyone know?

Remember when Modern Guru was on the last page in the Good Weekend? It was funnier back then too.

Vanity Fair has the Proust Questionnaire which is always a little pocket of goodness that I forget about every time. VF recently published a collection of them. And Graydon Carter wrote about the Proustian Bargain.

There is also an interactive Proust Questionnaire which I would start and invite you all to answer (we can compare responses) but I can’t get past the first question. Would someone else please get the ball rolling?

Another great last page is the Monthly magazine’s Encounters series written by Shane Maloney. Stories of interactions between two people you may or may not ordinarily think of in the same sentence. This month’s Encounter is between Richard Casey (Australian politician and diplomat) and Mahatma Gandhi.

I think my favourite Encounter was in the third edition of The Monthly in 2006 – between Errol Flynn and Fidel Castro. It could be Maloney’s crime fiction roots that were so suited to that story, but I still remember the humid Cuban setting even though I read it three years ago.

What magzines have you got at your place? What’s on the last page?

 

6 thoughts on “I love the last page of a magazine

  1. Josh

    Okay, I just stood up and got the nearest one, The University of Chicago Magazine, the page is headed “LITE OF THE MIND (a light-hearted look at all things Chicago)” – yes, unpromising, and if you’re me not really something I want to spend time on – it’s two crosswords. And both are cryptic, and there’s some kind of in-drawn pattern, I quote from the crossword’s creator, “Kevin Wald, SM’94, PhD’99”, “The letters tocuhing the gray lines (left to right, top to bottom) describe how I often traveled to campus as a student. Using the grid as a map, trace the path I took to see the all-important purpose of these journeys.”, which would be interesting, or might be, I guess, if you attended the University, but not really if not! By the clues, it looks like a very high-brow sort of crossword!

    About the Magazine, the late Studs Terkel had remarked “At times, when after a martini I feel too content with life as it is, I pick up a copy of the University of Chicago Magazine,” he wrote to the editor in 2004. “Its constant air of self-congratulation provides a never-failing antidote.” … but with what Studs described is also the odd interesting, worth-reading piece, like the one below about him where I got that from, and it’s nice to get it each month… why, even, Obama probably gets it and thumbs through!

    In case anyone’s interested here’s the article on Studs http://magazine.uchicago.edu/0902/features/studs.shtml

  2. Josh

    Okay, I just stood up and got the nearest one, The University of Chicago Magazine, the page is headed “LITE OF THE MIND (a light-hearted look at all things Chicago)” – yes, unpromising, and if you’re me not really something I want to spend time on – it’s two crosswords. And both are cryptic, and there’s some kind of in-drawn pattern, I quote from the crosswords’ creator, “Kevin Wald, SM’94, PhD’99″, “The letters touching the gray lines (left to right, top to bottom) describe how I often traveled to campus as a student. Using the grid as a map, trace the path I took to see the all-important purpose of these journeys.”, which would be interesting, or might be, I guess, if you attended the University, but not really if not! By the clues, it looks like a very high-brow sort of crossword!

    About the Magazine, the late Studs Terkel had remarked “At times, when after a martini I feel too content with life as it is, I pick up a copy of the University of Chicago Magazine,” he wrote to the editor in 2004. “Its constant air of self-congratulation provides a never-failing antidote.” … but with what Studs described is also the odd interesting, worth-reading piece, like the one below about him where I got that from, and it’s nice to get it each month… why, even, Obama probably gets it and thumbs through!

    In case anyone’s interested here’s the article on Studs http://magazine.uchicago.edu/0902/features/studs.shtml

  3. Josh

    actually – oh don’t I love a good actually – on closer inspection the crossword’s clues alone justify attention, like “Deer possessing power and information”, “A lover of Zeus embraces a grand Shaespearean villain”, “Sail randomly for Spanish island”, “Housman, the poet, discussing 10,000,000 centuries”… need I go on? They are all – it seems reading a few – very poetically put! Lifting the cryptic clue bar into the stratosphere!

  4. Josh

    actually – oh don’t I love a good actually – on closer inspection the crossword’s clues alone justify attention, like “Deer possessing power and information”, “A lover of Zeus embraces a grand Shakespearean villain”, “Sail randomly for Spanish island”, “Housman, the poet, discussing 10,000,000 centuries”… need I go on? They are all – it seems reading a few – very poetically put! Lifting the cryptic clue bar into the stratosphere!

Leave a Reply

