Writing Thursday’s post on Wednesday night and not even faking it

Oh dear, it’s late again, and technically not Thursday yet – but I’ll schedule this to autopost. Is that allowed in NaBloPoMo?

Since we last met I got on the train to Melbourne and am now getting ready for long-awaited sleep in Jess’s toy room/ad hoc spare bedroom.

Best discovery ever happened today (what good fortune for this blog): First class on the train! The Shepparton-Melbourne train is pretty reliably unpleasant. It’s slow and you always get stuck next to someone who is, objectively speaking, awful. Today I wanted to get some work done (which I did – go me) so I decided to pay the extra for First class. It was sooooo worth it. Arm rests, drink tables, giant windows that aren’t so dirty that you’re grossed out when you look through them. I actually enjoyed the journey.

I’ve come to Melbourne with a purpose. Tomorrow I’m babysitting Jess’s kids while she and Mark go to Oaks Day. Have I ever told you about how much I don’t like the Spring Racing Carnival in Melbourne? Too much orange fake tan. But helping Jess decide what to wear is actually kind of fun – especially because I don’t have to do any of the dressing up myself.

I took down some notes as Jess told me what I needed to know for the day, but I’ve only got things like:

  • Midday – sleep
  • 5-5.15pm – dinner
  • 7-7.30pm – bed

What else am I supposed to do all day? I suspect Jess would fill in the blanks with something like:

  • 9am to 7.30pm  – Try to stop Liam from terrorizing his brothers

Day taken care of! OK, thinking about this makes me realise I need to be asleep ASAP.

2 thoughts on “Writing Thursday’s post on Wednesday night and not even faking it

  1. David

    Oh my well all i kan say is that I h8 dressing up eugh you know I dred weddings and funerals I mean i just like wearing nice casual stuff nothing fancy koz thats how I am you no.

    Now I always thought that the 1st class parts of trains were a bit of a waste of space since I never saw any1 using them evar. When I was a child the 1st class parts were mini compartments sealed off with a sliding door, but the newar trains have an entire separate carriage for 1st class only wiv no won in it! Trains are 2 crowded so if 1st class woz abolisht it would giv more space to the comman foke.

  2. Meaghan

    I’m thinking somewhere around the word it’s still Thurs…
    Hope baby sitting went well. You need to up your rates. Free is way too cheap for such a pro.

Leave a Reply

