This is Dross. My theme for NaBloPoMo

02-13-09-dross

This is Dross*

Rowan and I have double dared each other to complete NaBloPoMo. For those of you who don’t know (spending time under your rock I suppose), it stands for National Blog Posting Month.

Lame jokes about hiding under rocks aside…NaBloPoMo is a spin off of the very cool NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month. Every November heaps of people commit to writing and completing a novel over 30 days. It’s nuts! I will do it sometime in the future when I have a November free and feel like spending all of my time and effort writing something that will be objectively awful. But I still think it would be fun.

Anyway, this is just an intro to a month of blog silliness. I warn you now, I’ll be scraping the bottom of the barrel early on this month, so be prepared for some dross. Actually, a month of silliness and dross sounds great!

Wait! Brainwave! The NaBloPoMo website says, “The theme for November is there is no theme for November”. Which could mean any number of things, but what I take it to mean is that I get to assign my own ill-defined theme. I choose dross.

Instead of hassling my friends to join the fun, consider this post a personal invitation. C’mon!

Photo credit: stolen from www.pyramydair.com/blog, a blog about air riffles. Original caption: This is Dross. Found by searching “dross” in google images.
7 thoughts on “This is Dross. My theme for NaBloPoMo

  1. Sarah Fortuna Post author

    You knew I would be coming after you shortly… I’ll take your rapid fire rejection as a sign that there’s no room for negotiation. NaNoWriMo on the other hand….

  2. Meaghan

    I’d consider it, but quite frankly I bore myself, so don’t think I should inflict it on the general public. That’s just cruel.
    NaNoWriMo on the other hand…

  3. David

    I will do my best to do terrible comments to go along with the dross.

    Aren’t pigeons funny on Friday evenings when the light is at a bit of an odd angle and you can’t quite make out their facial expressions but you’re sure they’re trying to say something profound and ingenious without moving their mouths though of course pigeons don’t have mouths they have beaks don’t they? Shooting pigeons with air rifles: innocent fun or the first step on the road to becoming a politician?

Leave a Reply

