The Top 10 Reasons Why Climate Change Scares the Hell Out of Me

Today is Blog Action Day, a day when every single blogger in the universe and throughout history writes about the same topic on the same day. This year’s topic was decided upon based on suggestions from everyone in the whole world, and Climate Change was overwhelmingly the topic of choice. I’m pretty sure I know why…BECAUSE WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE. Ummm, hello Mr Elephant in the Room.

In the spirit of Blog Action Day,

The Top 10 Reasons Why Climate Change Scares the Hell Out of Me.

  1. We’re all going to burn to death. That’s horrible.
  2. Pacific Island nations won’t exist anymore, which is obviously not good for the people whose countries stop existing (it seems somehow rather humiliating while also being a complete pain of tragic proportions).
  3. It’s also not good to lose all of those amazing holiday destinations. I ask you: do you work to live, or live to relax in a hammock and drink sweet alcoholic drinks with umbrellas in them while reading Eat, Pray, Love?
  4. The polar bear dies because he can’t find a piece of ice to rest on. The polar bears. What.About.The.Polar.Bears?!
  5. People like me exist. Oh soooooo engaged. Oh sooooo committed to the iss-ewes. But I still fly ALL OVER THE WHOLE DAMNED WORLD WHENEVER I FEEL LIKE IT. Sometimes I fly to the corner shop to get milk when I can’t be bothered walking. I disgust me. I feel hopeless just thinking about me. Usually I feel overwhelmed by my incapacity as one teeny tiny person to affect change. This time I’m horrified that one teeny tiny person has the power to FRY US ALL LIKE BACON IN HELL.
  6. The idea of warmer weather sounds actually pretty awesome. OH  MY GOD! PEOPLE LIKE ME – STUPID AS HELL – EXIST. There is no hope.
  7. I don’t want to see the end of the world, however it comes. What if that 2012 thing is true and we’re going to die before my 30th birthday? Or even worse, at my 30th birthday party. I know that no one is saying that climate change will kill us all by 2012, but it sure does make me think about the end of the world more than I used to.
  8. I do not want to live through a Margaret Atwood novel.
  9. There are some little gum trees out the back that are struggling in the drought. If it gets any hotter they don’t stand a chance.
  10. I have some friends who don’t do well in the heat. I worry for them.
3 thoughts on “The Top 10 Reasons Why Climate Change Scares the Hell Out of Me

  1. Lara

    I laughed 5 times out loud reading that and had to appologise to the person who was telling me a boring story about washing her cup. I miss you.

  2. Sarah Fortuna Post author

    Thanks for the outrage Beck. To get 1000 comments I would need 10 times as many people to read my blog and for every single one of them to comment!

Leave a Reply

