Jonathan Safran Foer Against Meat

Eleanor just shared the most wonderful article by Jonathan Safran Foer from the New York Times, Against Meat.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/11/magazine/11foer-t.html?pagewanted=1&ref=magazine

The main theme of the article is vegetarianism, but it also made me think about:

  • Living according to your values
  • Marriage
  • Raising children (I wondered if my generation could selflessly raise children and then I wondered if anyone has ever selflessly raised a child, or is a child always an expression/project of yourself)
  • Sacrifice for religion

Here’s the final section of the article. A conversation between him and his grandmother.

“The worst it got was near the end. A lot of people died right at the end, and I didn’t know if I could make it another day. A farmer, a Russian, God bless him, he saw my condition, and he went into his house and came out with a piece of meat for me.”

“He saved your life.”

“I didn’t eat it.”

“You didn’t eat it?”

“It was pork. I wouldn’t eat pork.”

“Why?”

“What do you mean why?”

“What, because it wasn’t kosher?”

“Of course.”

“But not even to save your life?”

“If nothing matters, there’s nothing to save.”

Leave a Reply

