Melbourne, Rushworth, the Backyard, the Alderman

Had a quick weekend in Melbourne and now I’m back in Rushworth ready to get things done.

My regular workload is increasing and I’m technically in the midst of an internship, enrolled in an online course and I’ve just blocked about one and a half months out of my calendar before the end of the year with travel. I also plan on landscaping the backyard. For those of you who know the backyard you will realise how implausible this is. It’s a bloody big yard. So I’m going to use every hour wisely. Not necessarily busily, but wisely. E.g. On the train back to Rushworth today I did boring and time consuming design work on my laptop.

I could become one of those efficiency experts that rule the internet (and who I read often), but I won’t because there is something vaguely circular and banal about what they do that makes me feel a bit queasy.

Did I mention my new book club? I went to my first meeting a bit over a week ago. We meet at the Alderman which means that no matter what we read it’s made cool by association. We read As I Lay Dying last time which didn’t need any help from the Alderman to make it cool. But for example, if we decide to read The Wedding by Danielle Steel our presence at the Alderman will make it clear that we are employing irony when selecting books, or perhaps reading popular fiction for insight into mainstream America circa 2000. See?!

We’re reading The Crying of Lot 49 next, which is making me wonder if we’re actually out-hipstering the Alderman. Actually, I think the Danielle Steel for irony approach is probably the only way to out-hipster the Alderman.

One thought on “Melbourne, Rushworth, the Backyard, the Alderman

  1. David

    At the wedding, as I lay dying,
    I heard Lot 49’s crying.
    The shedding of tears, stamping of heel:
    How could you read Danielle Steel?!

Leave a Reply

