Limestone Coast

This post has taken three four separate attempts over  five days to finish. The time it takes to post lots of photos seems to be too long for my internet connection. Sadly, I’m transferring my frustration onto blogging in general and the Sarah-Blog relationship has soured. Stupid dumb blog.

Once upon a time, I went for over a week without any internet access. I did get a little bit restless, but as I reflect on that time now, I realise how sweet life was. Here are some photos of those good old days.

After leaving Port Fairy, MJ and I travelled further west to South Australia.

Tower Hill

But first we had to risk our lives and pass through the depths of a volcano… (I wish you could hear my scary horror voice that I put on as I write this)

Emus at Tower Hill

Emus at Tower Hill

On the road

Rusty old shed.

Rusty old shed.

Public toilet - the more sophisticated side of Australian culture

Public toilet - an example of the sophisticated side of Australian culture

Wind power

Wind power

ANZAC soldiers carves out of gum trees. Doesn't get much Aussier than that

ANZAC soldiers carves out of gum trees. Doesn't get much Aussier than that

Robe

While we drove, we contemplated our destination and after much deliberation, decided to stay at the place we kind of knew we were going to stay all along, Robe.

Colonial Hotel, Robe

Caledonian Inn, Robe

Embarking on a windy adventure

Embarking on a windy adventure

fgfgdfgdf

Robe waterfront

Robe view from a hill

Robe view from a hill

Back streets of Robe

Back streets of Robe

Robe Pier

Robe Pier

Intertidal reefs

Intertidal reefs sign

Intertidal reefs...in Vietnamese

Intertidal reefs sign...in Vietnamese...?

Blossom

Blossom

Flowers by the pier in Robe

Flowers by the pier in Robe

Tea and biscuits at Robe bookshop

Tea and biscuits at Robe bookshop

Robe Bookshop

Robe Bookshop

Robe bookshop window

Robe bookshop window

View from the lookout

View from the lookout

Robe Obelisk

Robe Obelisk

You've been warned

You've been warned

Robe police station

Robe police station

On the way home

After two nights in Robe we began the journey home. First we stopped at the Naracoorte Caves (caves don’t photograph well) and then visited Penola to dose up on some Mary MacKillop news. Then drove past what seemed like every famous Australian winery, so obvs we  had to stop in at a winery for lunch. After a hearty winter repast…that was the end of photography. For the historical record, I shall inform you all that we stayed in Hamilton that night and drove home the next day via historic Maldon, which is a much nicer place than the website would have you believe.

I choose not to make a cheesy "bee" pun

I choose not to make a cheesy "bee" pun

Native flower by the cave

Native flower by the cave

Native flower that looks strangely like an orchid

Native flower that looks strangely like an orchid

Mary MacKillop's first school

Mary MacKillop's first school

Swans in a paddock

Swans in a paddock along the road side

2 thoughts on “Limestone Coast

  1. David Bowie

    There is a poignant loneliness to that rusty old shed. It reminds me of the billions of centuries I have spent travelling alone from universe to universe, wine bar to wine bar, drunken stupor to…wherever I fall down. I used to treasure my loneliness as a cat would treasure its sleep, but not any more: my eternal slumber has been ended by the sparkling wit and sheer irrepressible irrepressibility of Sarah. I feel like a whole new shed: rust-free, new paint, the lot. Anything is possible with a new shed.

  2. yvonne

    Jurassic park:_ÄÖLK;M!”#¤%&&/ÄÄÕÜ;::M;;: sorry i cant find the question mark on my keyboard.

Leave a Reply

