The last of the Photikans

So I did a rubbish job of reporting on my last trip to Australia. I didn’t take many photos while I was at home (I was too busy sleeping), and because my “reports” of travel are just strings of photos with captions I don’t have much to work with.

So just to make it feel like I’ve met the minimum reporting requirements here are a few random photos from my trip and we will just call it even, OK?

The Night of Jess and Beck’s Double-birthday Extravaganza

Lara at the European after Jess and Beck's birthday

Lara at the European after Jess and Beck's birthday

I would add some photos from the party but it’s hard to pick my favourite one out of 500 photos of 17 drunk people trying to squeeze into one shot. I might just create a hall of fame. That reminds me, did I mention the party? In case I didn’t…Jess turned 30 and Beck turned 40 and it was a ridiculously funny party. There were even chocolate cupcakes with pink icing…so we smashed them in each other’s faces. Obvs.

Museum Day

I took heaps of photos the day Meaghan, Clare, Ryan, Miles and I went to the museum.

Skeletosaurus

Skeletosaurus

Ryan in the museum playground

Ryan in the museum playground

Fountain in Carlton Gardens

Fountain in Carlton Gardens

Ryan resting by the fountain

Ryan resting by the fountain

Miles exploring the garden

Miles exploring the garden

Clare and Meaghan walking through the gardens to the tram

Clare and Meaghan walking through the gardens to the tram

Ollie and Liam turn 1!

The other time I took my camera out was another lovely Melbourne day out. Ollie and Liam’s first birthday at the Children’s Farm and Convent.

Sarah tries to get a smile out of Ollie...Ollie is not impressed

Sarah tries to get a smile out of Ollie...Ollie is not impressed

Chloe and Rueben (this is one photo out of a very funny series)

Chloe and Rueben (this is one photo out of a very funny series)

Nanna, Liam and Ollie

Nanna, Liam and Ollie

Done! that’s a load off my shoulders…

2 thoughts on “The last of the Photikans

  1. Josh

    yeah I know how Ollie’s feeling at the Convent.. attended a wedding there recently, lovely wedding, lovely people and all, but I just think the place is emotionally dead, semi-haunting. I mean, I appreciate people’s will to keep it open and save it from destruction, but there’s something that hasn’t been achieved there in the area of sustained emotional life and vitality. The austerity of it is overpowering, even amid the garden and beauty of the area. It’s like there’s nowhere for the heart to go. Contrast it with Carlton Gardens and you get an idea what I’m talking about, the heart is everywhere, belongs everywhere.

Leave a Reply

