The Secret World of the Hair Whisperer

So last week I went to my hairdresser who I’ve named ‘the hair whisperer’ for her ability to give me an amazing haircut on absolutely no input from me. She doesn’t speak English, my Thai does not extend to hair adjectives (it doesn’t really extend anywhere at all).

I’d had a three month absence from the hairdresser because I’m trying to grow my hair and cutting it seems to be counter-intuitive to that aim. My hair had just gotten long enough to put into a pony-tail. This was a huge bonus in the humid hair frizz land of Bangkok, but it was getting out of control so I was willing to take a cut that would set my pony-tail aspirations back a few weeks. So I sat down and conveyed that I wanted just a little bit removed (scissor signal with hands, the thai word for ‘little bit’).

Now, I don’t doubt that the hair whisperer communicates with my hair and knows what it wants, it’s just that I’m pretty sure my hair wanted to stay long. Turns out she heard  my hair say, “CUT ME OFF!” So now I have shorter hair than I did three months ago.

And so, back to square one….sigh.

4 thoughts on “The Secret World of the Hair Whisperer

  1. Josh

    “She doesn’t speak English, my Thai does not extend to hair adjectives (it doesn’t really extend anywhere at all).” – great sentence!

  2. Meaghan

    NNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOO! Your hair was looking hot hot hot. I’m thinking you’re just going to have to do what I’ve done and embrace short hair. I’m destined never to have long hair again. It’s not all bad. It’s never long enough to get tangled too badly at least. And I’ll never get it stuck in a lift door.

Leave a Reply

