Short trip to Rushworth (all those who understand the double meaning raise your hand)

In my short trip back to Australia I was able to squeeze in a trip to Rushworth (in between my busy sleep schedule). Here are some photos:

1. One of the most compelling reasons to squeeze in a trip to Rushworth

Kitchen fire

Kitchen fire

2. On Saturday MJ, Benj and I did some burning off. Here we pitted the barrel against the pile-of-stuff-bonfire. Both have their strengths: the barrel is more efficient, but the bonfire can handle some of the larger or more unweildy items.

Burning stuff

Burning stuff

3. It turned into night very quickly

bonfire after dark

Burning stuff, then it gets dark

4.On Sunday the girls came to Rushworth and Em took me for a spin on this monster

Emily on the quadrasaur

Emily on the quadrasaur

5. We also did more burning, and cleaned out the wash house, finding little treasures like this:

Sarah's art from grade Prep. I hit the peak of my talent shortly after.

Sarah's art from grade Prep. I hit the peak of my talent shortly after.

6. In the evening it was time for marshmallows

Abby toasts marshmallows

Abby toasts marshmallows

Abby eats marshmallows

Abby eats marshmallows

7. And I made a cake! We fed it to people the next day and it got rave reviews. But then when I told them I made it from a packet (obvs) I got chastised! What!? Since when are packets evil? Without them there would probably be 90% less cake in the world.

I made lemon cake!

I made lemon cake!

3 thoughts on “Short trip to Rushworth (all those who understand the double meaning raise your hand)

  1. Lara

    Oh no, i don’t understand the meaning of the rushworth short trip thingo…
    Your post was so nice. At the moment I am sitting in a fluro lit emergency room listening to the beeps of heart monitors and wishing I was in front of a fireplace watching and listening to the flickering of flame. There should definitely be more fireplaces like MJ’s in the world, and I should be near one right now.

  2. David

    The packet versus non-packet cake debate is one that has puzzled philosophers for centuries. No consensus has ever been reached on which is better, though apparently Socrates was a strict anti-packet person, while Plato didn’t have a problem with packets. A fragment from Plato’s little-known Recipe Dialogues: “For is it not true that the packet cake contains the manifold form of cake, thereby ensuring that the baked cake is true to the nature of cake?”

    Spinoza didn’t like cake at all, while Wittgenstein thought it pointless to talk about cake. “Why do philosophers go on about cake so much? I find it pretty annoying myself. Just be quiet!”

Leave a Reply

