A free long weekend

This weekend I was caught unprepared for a long weekend. So Thursday night rolled around and I found myself staring down the barrel of three completely free days. (are you as confused as I am by that weird mixed metaphor?)

This was both exciting and terrifying, because I was in danger of wasting away three days and then I’d get an “oh my god, my life is soooo boring” attack sometime around 10pm on Saturday night. So I approached the weekend methodically, and then most of my method was thrown out the window and friends called to make plans to do fun stuff. So here’s how the weekend turned out.

Friday
Woke up around 7am (weird!! but I did crash out super early the night before). I immediately got to work on Sarah’s Bangkok Reading Challenge, reading a few chapters of Good Wives.

I went out for milk at some point and was reminded by my security guard that it was a public holiday and I was stupid for being awake so early. So true!!

I had muesli for breakfast, which was so delicious – one of those “man, I want to eat cereal for every meal for the rest of my life” meals, while listening to my all time favourite podcast, This American Life.

this american life

Then I listened to a podcast I just discovered called The Moth Podcast, which features true stories told live without notes. I am totally hooked. I listened to that while I cleaned my apartment from top to bottom. I even cleaned the green slime that has started growing on  my balcony since the hot season started. This slime is super-slime and can grown in minutes! It’s a pretty green colour so I’m not bothered by it, but I suppose it can’t stay there forever.

Then it was time to head to Little India with Nikki. We are into bus adventures at the moment, so we took the no.8 bus somewhere, but neither of us were entirely clear where we were. We were adventuring to find fabric for Nikki’s craft project. I was going along for moral support. We found a great textiles market which wasn’t actually Little India, and then after some serious strolling in 43 degree heat we found Little India in all its gaudy glory.

Cakes in Little India

Cakes in Little India

Somewhere along the way we got the excellent idea to have massages, so Nikki got on the phone to her sister to get names and numbers of good massage places, and instead her sister told her we could have free foot massages at the spa right near our house! So we dropped in at Nana Spa (Ari Soi 1) and got deluxe foot massages with scrubs and lotions and the best bit – cheesy Thai magazines, with a Thai person willing to explain it! “Nikki, is this a member of the royal family?” “Nikki, is this celebrity a boy or a girl?” etc, etc.

The rest of the evening involved eating, chatting on the phone to Ro and even…wait for it…yoga.

Day one of Free Long Weekend = A+

Saturday

I woke up at 9.30am on Saturday! Oh my god, it was the best sleep I’ve had, maybe ever! I ate muesli again, and read some more, but this morning I had much less time on my hands. I had to pretty myself up because Nikki and I were going…

Hi-so shopping!

Hi-so is slang for high society, and is basically used in the same way Australians would use “posh” or “fancy pants”. Conversations go like this: “I went to Longtable the other day” “Ooooh, hi-sooooooo”

While Nikki and I sweated it out in Little India the day before, it occured to us that going to Bangkok’s fanciest shopping malls would be a good follow up. So we headed off to Erawan Bangkok and Gaysorn.

Gaysorn

Gaysorn

We didn’t buy much, in fact I only bought a newspaper and Nikki bought some cosmetics, but you don’t go to these places to actually shop – otherwise you’d be very, very poor afterwards. I am now totally on board with the Asian passtime of hanging out in shopping malls. It was cool, there was food whenever you wanted it, and plenty of things to look at. And Nikki pointed out that we’d saved money on our electricty bills because we weren’t at home with the AC blasting.

Around 5pm we headed home, I had a quick shower and nap before heading out to meet Mike. You remember Mike:

Mike gets Songkraned

Mike gets Songkraned

He was passing through BKK on my birthday, and came back again this weekend. Mike has been hanging out in Laos with his girlfriend who is doing research there, but they’ve just moved to Cambodia and in the next few weeks Mike will head off to the Philippines to do some research of his own. Yes, people have very cool lives.

I took Mike to Jazz and Zeke’s place. You remember Jazz and Zeke:

Jazz and Zeke

Jazz and Zeke

We were going to go out to see bands playing by the river and stopped in for a few drinks first….and then the rain started. In Bangkok if it rains it pours (and thunders and lightings), so we were housebound until about midnight. By then the impending curfew and the rain seemed to have shut the city down so we went to 24 dim sum and snacked on dumplings until late.

Day two of Free Long Weekend = A+!!

Sunday

Woke up at 9.30am again!! No hangover! Sunday was designated rest day, so I started out by reading a few more chapters of Good Wives and then moved onto breakfast with the newspaper. There was some more reading and napping and a trip to Wawee Coffee. Then, just to get things moving, I watched a movie! Vicki Christina Barcelona – which was totally primo by the way!!

It rained for most of the day, so when it subsided I went out and took some photos in the street. I’ll post them another day. Sushi for dinner and then back home.

Day three of Free Long Weekend = A+ again!!

So, with a bit of method and lots of luck I had a totally A+ long weekend! There was adventure, massage, dumplings and a lot of sleep, and the best bit – it lasted for three days. My perfect weekend!

One thought on “A free long weekend

Leave a Reply

