High Tea at the Oriental Hotel

Last Saturday Nicky, Lara and I went to Oriental Hotel for High Tea for my birthday.
__
We woke up in the morning to torrential rain and thunder. I filmed the storm from my balcony because Bangkok thunder must be heard to be believed, but I think I’ll save the 8 min clip for a special occasion another time.
__
After the rain subsided around 1pm Nicky met us outside my apartment. Nicky lives in the same street as me, which for some reason makes me like her even more. I suppose I watched enough Neighbours growing up to know that neighbours, become gooooood friends…
At Saphan Taksin Pier

At Saphan Taksin Pier

We took to the BTS to Saphan Taksin pier and waited for our boat. I took this photo using the timer setting. Oh the hilarity. Just like Family Ties.

Complimentary boat to the Oriental Hotel - most of the hotels on the river have one

Complimentary boat to the Oriental Hotel - most of the hotels on the river have one

Look at the Oriental Hotel boat! Isn’t it fancy. But there was one boat we liked even more…

Obama! Obama!

Obama! Obama!

A few minutes after we left the Saphan Taksin pier we pulled up to the Oriental Hotel and headed straight to the Author’s Lounge.

Nicky on the way to the Author's Lounge

Nicky on the way to the Author's Lounge

We took our seat in a quiet corner by the window and got busy deciding what we’d have.

What ever shall we have?

What ever shall we have?

We all knew what we wanted pretty quickly, but took our time reading the menu: exotic teas, rose jam, clotted cream! agh!

Nicky and Sarah peruse the menu

Nicky and Sarah peruse the menu

Lara and I ordered the Traditional English High Tea, and Nicky ordered the Special Thai High Tea – ethnic profiles in check!

While we waited for our tea I spied a room sectioned off from the rest of the lounge, and went for a peak through the glass doors. Only a moment later one of the staff politely ushered me away from the doors. What was going on in there?! I wanted to see in more than ever! A few minutes later three abnormally tall men walked out of the room, having ended what looked like some kind of important person meeting (although one of the men looked positively out of mind with boredom). I took the opportunity to snap a photo of the room when the men left the doors open behind them.

Some kind of VIP lounge

Some kind of VIP lounge

Out of nowhere, the same lady who had politely warned me to stay away before was on top of me in a flash! “There’s a meeting going on in there!” I quickly ran back to my seat, mumbling that the meeting had finished. But I didn’t want to push it. I already had two strikes to my name, and even though it would make and excellent blog story, I didn’t want to be ejected from the Oriental Hotel – we hadn’t even started tea yet!

Lime sorbet

Lime sorbet

Shortly after my brush with authority our tea started to arrive. You know any meal that begins with sorbet is right on track.

Tea time

Tea time

Then our tea arrived. I had a green tea with citrus notes. And then our food arrived. Oh look at it!!

High Tea in all its glory

High Tea in all its glory

And look at the ladies enjoying the fine spread!

Nicky and Sarah sip tea

Nicky and Sarah sip tea

But wait, what’s this? A birthday cake for Sarah? Two of the staff brought this out singing happy birthday to me! Nicky had set it up!

Happy Birthday Sarah

Happy Birthday Sarah

There was one thing possibly even better than the delicious apple slice with a biscuty base and real vanilla ice cream (my favourite)… The lady who snapped at me earlier was now singing to me! Yeah, that’s right lady…I’m the boss around here, the birthday girl! SING!

Birthday

Birthday

And then she took a nice photo of the three of us, and all was forgiven between us.

Quite a number of hours later it was time to move on from tea and walk the grounds before reluctantly boarding the boat back to regular Bangkok. Oh I do enjoy the East in the Summer. Simply mahvelous!

Oriental Hotel

Oriental Hotel

Oriental Hotel

Oriental Hotel

Leave a Reply

