Ring up

Just read this E.M. Forster quote over at Department of Internets:

I hate the idea of causes, and if I had to choose between betraying my country and betraying my friend I hope I should have the guts to betray my country. Such a choice may scandalize the modern reader, and he may stretch out his patriotic hand to the telephone at once and ring up the police. It would not have shocked Dante, though. Dante places Brutus and Cassius in the lowest circle of Hell because they had chosen to betray their friend Julius Caesar rather than their country Rome.

Does anyone way “ring up” anymore? I can’t remember the last time I heard that. It seems more common to say “ring”, or “call”. I think I might have discovered the death of a phrase. Should I wiki it?

7 thoughts on “Ring up

  1. Leslie Nassar

    To be fair, Forster is 1. English, and 2. Dead. Back in his day, he probably said all kinds of crazy shit like “C’mon, guv’na, one more pint? The dogs’ll ‘ave me hind quarters!”

  2. Sarah Fortuna Post author

    I think Forster was probably more likely to say “Righteo Chaps! another snifter if you don’t mind. By jove, best watch for the hounds this eve”

  3. Ben

    Good to see the full meaning of that quote hasn’t been lost in the comments.. đŸ˜‰

    I wonder if this was in some way a reference to Leslie’s public stoush with his former employer? Big corps are eroding employee’s rights (e.g. privacy), to the point that I think there needs to be a champion for this cause.

  4. Josh

    I like “ring up the police”. And you don’t “call” the police, you “call on” them.

  5. yvonne

    Maybe it is I who has seemed to prolong the half-life of this phrase, as I probably use it on a weekly basis.

    Sidenote: my biostatistics instructor used “glib” in class yesterday sending my mind on a Tom Cruise flashback.

Leave a Reply

