Christmas mix 2008

Christmas in my apartment

Without further delay I present my Christmas Mix for 2008. There are a few Christmas Mix 2008 CDs floating around and hopefully reaching some mailboxes before the 25th but if one doesn’t reach your mailbox in time you can download the whole thing here (using the very nifty drop.io):

Christmas Mix 2008

Track listing:

  1. Vivaldi: Gloria in D, Rv 589 – Negri Vittorio
  2. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Death Cab for Cutie
  3. It’s Christmas! Let’s be Glad! – Sufjan Stevens
  4. Every Christmas – Destroyer
  5. Angels We Have Heard on High – Sufjan Stevens
  6. Blue Christmas – Bright Eyes
  7. I Love N.Y.E – Badly Drawn Boy
  8. Chestnuts Roasting on – Arcade Fire
  9. I Saw Three Ships – Sufjan Stevens
  10. Christmas Reindeer – The Knife
  11. Ding! Dong! – Sufjan Stevens
  12. White Christmas – Mark Kozelek
  13. Donna and Blitzen – Badly Drawn Boy
  14. Christmas Blues – Canned Heat
  15. Christmas Song – Mogwai
  16. O Come, O Come Emmanuel – Sufjan Stevens
  17. Happy Christmas (War is Over) – Polyphonic Spree
  18. Jesus the Mexican Boy – Iron & Wine
  19. Holy, Holy, Holy – Sufjan Stevens
  20. Fairytale of New York – Stars

Bonus Track for download only: Christmas Must be Tonight – The Band (Can’t be found on any of the CDs. Special huh?)

****

P.S.  I’ve lifted giant chunks from other compilations. Links to the original albums:

A Very Indie Christmas

Songs for Christmas

About a Boy

Shine

The Sea & the Rhythm

4 thoughts on “Christmas mix 2008

  1. Anonymous

    Vivaldi and White Christmas sure, but none is surely enough Sufjan Stevens for Christmas. SIX! SIX made the MIX?!! I dunno about anyone else, but I don’t want to hear North American indy singers and bands doing Christmas music. It’s just not to my taste. And am I wrong in thinking they’re all a bit crap anyway? Arcade Fire? I mean really, they’ve got some guy who hits motorcycle helmets and crap. On television. What about some Guns N Roses?

  2. sarahfortuna Post author

    The best part is that some of the tracks are awful! Particularly the Arcade Fire one. But these are essential Christmas tracks for anyone’s collection.

  3. Josh

    That was me in case you didn’t twig! I wasn’t aiming to go anonymouns in my rant, it just so happened! And I defer judgement of course as I haven’t heard them! “all a bit crap anyway” was a bit rough, excuse me! And merry christmas, x.

  4. Benj

    Hey thanx 4 this, I onli just noticed it..

    Burning a CD now to present to d fam 4 d obligatory “here in spirit” touch. 🙂

    Merry Christmas!! 😀

Leave a Reply

