Welcome to Rushworth

I spent last week at home in Rushworth, the small town where I was born and raised. MJ and I hung out a bit and worked in the garden, and when MJ was at work I wandered around the house, read books, made lunch, lit the fire, that kind of thing.

One day I set off around town to take photos for a blog post. As you can imagine it’s impossible to compress 26 years of memories into one blog post’s worth of photos, so rather than comprehensively showing off Sarah’s Rushworth, I will give random stories about the things I walked past as I did a loop of the town.

Flowers on the footpath

Flowers on the footpath

These flowers are very much in vogue at the moment and I especially liked the way they were used along this path.

I followed Moora Rd towards High St, and came across these spooky places:

Haunted house

Haunted house

This place is spooky for obvious reasons. It’s a haunted house…duh.

The Masonic Hall

The Masonic Hall

The Masonic Hall is spooky more specifically because it was the site of one of my most vivid and weird dreams ever. I had it when I was maybe 8 or 10 or something, and I still remember it. There was a monkey swinging on the pole that protruded from the front and we were inside it getting chased around by some mysterious figure. I’m guessing that my subconscious chose that location as the scene of my dream because Masons are weird and mysterious. On that point, that means this place is doubly spooky.

U Clipped Us (Har Har)

U Clipped Us (Har Har)

Please allow me to introduce you to a great Australian (and perhaps global) tradition: The Hairdresser Pun.

This clever hairdresser decided to call their business ‘U Clipped Us’ (if the joke isn’t immediately clear to you, think of the big, native Australian trees). Bravo bravo.

The Agitator

The Agitator

The Agitator Laundromat has only come about since I moved out of Rushworth, but it makes me giggle. Next door is the newish store, Rushy Recyclables.

Rushworth historical history

Rushworth historical history

Rushworth is very historical. It’s all about the history, yes siree. Above: Historic Wagon and Historical Museum. I am trying to ascertain and will gladly take suggestions on whether a historical museum is a museum about history, or a very old museum. I think Rushworth’s Historical Museum is both of those things, but I wonder if there is a distinction between the words historic, and historical that I don’t know about…Anyone?

Some more historica or historical things in High Street Rushworth:

Robur Advertisment

Robur Advertisment

Rushworth Shire Hall

Rushworth Shire Hall

The Shire Hall is where I had my 21st birthday party and Jess and Mark had their wedding reception. Countless other moments in Fortuna history happened there. Marcus played Danny in Grease, for example. It was also the place where I got my finger stuck in a hole in the floor during a concert when I was about seven and was sure my teacher would have to chop my finger off.

Hairitage on High

Hairitage on High

This building is the old Waranga News office. It now enjoys a more glamorous life as the home of Rushworth’s other hair salon, Hairitage on High. That’s right…Hairitage on High.

High St, Rushworth

High St, Rushworth

The Park

The Park

This is the park closest to my house and like ever other park in the world the best parts of the park was considered unsafe years ago. The steamroller in the background use not to be behind a fence. We could play all over it. There was a hole in the roof and a strange red substance that fueled stories that some kid a long long time ago fell through the hole and had his head chopped off. I never asked an adult for verification and just assumed it wasn’t true but secretly was a bit scared every time I played on it.

St Mary's Primary School

My primary school, St Mary's.

Then my camera battery died. Tour of Rushworth over. I hope you liked it.

5 thoughts on “Welcome to Rushworth

  1. Josh

    Loved it! “U Clipped Us” (which I have to say was a slow-burner, but I just beat your explanation to it) and “Hairitage on High” are two priceless moments of life, and I’ve been thinking of changing hairdresser, so might have take the trip! Let them do half each!

    Plus – actually this isn’t really a matter for enthusiasm – but, soberly, in addition, the picture of High Street Rushworth resembled to me a wide path in a cemetery! Possibly Daniel Johns once lived in Rushworth, which is to say something rude to all Rushworthians and I apologise as well as I can! No, it looks like a fabulous, historical place (not unlike a cemetery), but … oh I give up!

    ‘Historic’ usually means something *defining* within history – Barack Obama’s ‘historic’ speech, which I find an irritating use of the word, it’s like “be patient, let it be one if it is, don’t try to label it so soon!” – ‘historical’ is less certain about the defining particulars, more a general kind of word, but they are in many ways interchangable. “Historic Museum” is ambigous, it seems to include both senses – a museum which is historically significant (historic), and also one devoted to history, but there is some case for asking what Museums are those which differ from this? It seems more like advertising signage, historical advertising signage.

  2. Meaghan

    Thanks for the walking tour of Rushworth that I didn’t even have to leave my seat for. Next I want snaps of the locals, just to prove that it’s still inhabited.

  3. Lara

    You didn’t show 3 Phillips st… But Rushworth looks really lovely in these photos. Nice work.

  4. yvonne

    it does look a bit ghost town-y. nevertheless, it’s quaint. LOVE IT! took me a while to understand you clipped us, because i was thinking the whole time…”no, you clipped me, i didnt clip you” i’m glad you posted that hint for the slower of the bunch (aka me).

  5. Rebecca Fortuna

    You have given me an idea re Waranga News old offices……. there’s like 5 that I can count!!! You could do a series……… (i.e. the old Chronicle Office, the house next to the Hostel, yes the now Hairitage on High, the dining room table of 3 Phillips St, and of course…..current home of 33 Moora Rd……. although I feel like I have missed a few……)

Leave a Reply

