A non-faster’s guide to Ramadan. One easy step.

Soto Ayam

Soto Ayam

I’m not fasting for Ramadan but almost everyone in my office is. There are very few places open to sell lunch during the day so it’s been a bit of an effort to find food each day. Unfortunately, I’m not big on effort to find food so I’ve skipped lunch a couple of times this week and regretted it later.

But in the last two days I’ve struck upon some enormous luck.

My housekeeper, the famous Kak Ani (who is over her dengue fever now) has been recruited by my boss to cook for her and the security guards during Ramadan. Kak Ani is an amazing cook, and now, everyday day around 3pm she comes to the office and fills it with delicious cooking smells (four hours before it’s time to break the fast, testing the discipline of all in the office). At this time I am usually pretty hungry from skipping lunch and wander downstairs to say hi and check out what’s on the menu.

Kak Ani, being concerned with my health on a daily basis asks me if I’ve eaten yet and I admit to skipping lunch. She gets fussy at me (funny coming from a woman who is fasting for a month) and I go back to my office. Then…something turns up on my desk…
Is this sneaky? I don’t know how morally corrupt it is to eat food made for people who choose to fast in devotion to god.

Yesterday’s Soto Ayam was sensational. It’s a curry chicken soup and Kak Ani’s offering was the best I’ve ever eaten! Even compared to the “warung that has the best soto ayam in Aceh”.

So, a guide for the non-faster during Ramadan in one easy step:

Step 1: Find an amazing cook who is being paid by someone else to sneak food to your office.

Simple, no?

2 thoughts on “A non-faster’s guide to Ramadan. One easy step.

  1. Josh

    “I don’t know how morally corrupt it is to eat food made for people who choose to fast in devotion to god.”

    This sentence is to me the most striking of all Where is Sarah? to my knowledge. I think it shows a very noble spirit to ask such a question. And shows too that you are deserving this food, and there is a window, as it were, in the fasting period through which Kak Ani has traveled and helped you with this, and it is certainly part of devotion to God and you should eat happily.

  2. Lara

    What a find Kak Ani has been. Who knew that you could have paid her to be a chef whilst she was living at your place? That soto ayam even looks healthy!

Leave a Reply

